UConn HomeThe UConn Advance
Send a printer-friendly page to my printer 
Email a link to this page.

Darre named new University Marshall

- November 14, 2005

Michael Darre, professor and interim head of the animal science department, has assumed responsibilities as chair of the Commencement Committee and will direct Commencement activities as Marshall for the first time during the December undergraduate commencement exercises.

Provost Peter J. Nicholls, who announced Darre’s new role, said, “I am delighted that we have someone of Professor Darre’s stature and experience to take over this set of responsibilities.

Nicholls also thanked Professor Keith Barker for his service as University Marshall since December 2003, and chair of the Commencement Committee for the last 15 years.

“Under his leadership, our academic ceremonies have been carried out with the highest degree of professionalism and in a manner reflective of the great pride that we all feel for the academic programs of this institution and for the accomplishments of its faculty and students,” Nicholls said.

“Keith’s contributions have encompassed ceremonies at the Storrs campus, at the Law School, and at the Health Center,” he said.

He added that Barker made the University’s official ceremonies “occasions of dignity, celebration, and pride for the UConn community.”

ADVANCE HOME         UCONN HOME The UConn Advance
© University of Connecticut
Disclaimers, Privacy, & Copyright
EMail the Editor        Text only