UConn HomeThe UConn Advance
Send a printer-friendly page to my printer 
Email a link to this page.

Recipients of 2006 Provost's Research Awards announced

- August 28, 2006

The recipients of the 2006 Provost's Research Excellence Awards and Provost's Research Fellowships have been announced.

The Provost's Research Excellence Awards recognize excellence in research at the Storrs and regional campuses.

The awards are open to tenured faculty in all disciplines who hold the title of University Professor, Professor, or Associate Professor.

Up to four awards are made and each is accompanied by a stipend of $2,500 to be used at the award winner's discretion in support of his or her program of research.

Factors considered by the review committee when evaluating the nominations include:

  • Is the research seminal, influential?
  • What is the impact of the research in a global context? and
  • What influence has the nominee had on the promotion of research at the University, such as mentoring students and colleagues?

The 2006 recipients of the Provost's Research Excellence Awards are:

Maria Luz Fernandez, Professor, Nutritional Sciences

Richard Langlois, Professor, Economics

Diana Meyers, Professor, Philosophy

They will be honored during the May 2007 graduate Commencement ceremony.

The Provost's Research Fellowship program offers an opportunity for release time from teaching for a semester to work on a long-term research project.

This competitive program is designed to support and promote long-term research projects that cannot be funded via other, more traditional avenues.

Proposals are evaluated by a peer review committee that considers

  • the overall excellence of the proposed research project and its scholarly significance;
  • evidence that the research project is in the final, or near-to-final stages;
  • evidence that other, more traditional sources of support are not available to support completion of the research project; and
  • evidence that release time from teaching is crucial in order to complete the research project.

Recipients of the 2006 Provost's Research Fellowship awards are:

Kenneth Gouwens, Associate Professor, History
Paolo Giovio's Ischian Dialogue: A Critical Edition and Translation, Spring 2007.

Jean Marsden, Professor, English
Drama and 18th-Century Culture, Spring 2007.

Samuel Martínez, Associate Professor, Anthropology
Uncovering the Roots of Unfree Labor, Spring 2007.

Sylvia Schafer, Associate Professor, History
Liberty, Equality, Alterity: Law and the Government of Difference in Modern France, Spring 2007.

Robert Stephens, Professor, Music
Sounds of the Soul: Music and Religion in Afro-Cuban Culture, Fall 2006.

Harry van der Hulst, Professor, Linguistics
Dependence Phonology, Spring 2007.

ADVANCE HOME         UCONN HOME The UConn Advance
© University of Connecticut
Disclaimers, Privacy, & Copyright
EMail the Editor        Text only