UConn HomeThe UConn Advance
Send a printer-friendly page to my printer 
Email a link to this page.

Engineering dean wins national award

by Michael Kirk - November 28, 2005

Amir Faghri, dean of engineering
Amir Faghri, dean of engineering

Amir Faghri, dean of the School of Engineering, has been awarded the James Harry Potter Gold Medal by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME).

The medal is among the most prestigious awards given by ASME, a leading professional organization with 120,000 members nationwide. The medal was established in 1980 to recognize “eminent achievement in the science of thermodynamics in mechanical engineering,” according to ASME. It was presented to Faghri at ASME’s annual conference in Orlando, Fla., in November.

Faghri was specifically recognized for “significant and innovative research contributions to the field of thermodynamics and multiphase systems, with applications to heat pipes, fuel cells and energy storage systems.”

“It is a tremendous honor to be recognized for this work by my peers and the American Society of Mechanical Engineers,” said Faghri.

The citation accompanying the medal states, “Faghri’s most profound contributions relate to his development of the fundamental theories that have enabled today’s widespread development of miniature and micro heat pipes in portable electronic components, including laptop computers.”

Faghri joined the UConn faculty in 1994 and become dean of the School of Engineering in 1998. He has authored six books and edited several volumes and more than 250 archival technical publications, including 150 journal papers. He has given 20 major keynote addresses and invited lectures and holds 11 U.S. patents.

His signature 1995 work, Heat Pipe Science and Technology, has received international acclaim and is the most widely used book on the subject.

Faghri has previously served as a consultant to Los Alamos and Oak Ridge national laboratories, as well as the Intel Corp. He also serves on the editorial boards of eight scientific journals.

In 1998, he was honored with ASME’s Heat Transfer Memorial Award.

ADVANCE HOME         UCONN HOME The UConn Advance
© University of Connecticut
Disclaimers, Privacy, & Copyright
EMail the Editor        Text only