UConn HomeThe UConn Advance
Send a printer-friendly page to my printer 
Email a link to this page.

Trustees name three faculty Distinguished Professors

by Karen A. Grava - January 28, 2008

Three faculty members have been named University of Connecticut Board of Trustees Distinguished Professors.

The three – Richard Bass, professor of mathematics; Cheryl Tatano Beck, professor of nursing; and Dipak Dey, professor and head of statistics – were named last week by the trustees because of their “exceptional distinction in scholarship, teaching, and service while at the University of Connecticut.”

Bass, who received the Chancellor’s Research Excellence Award in 2001, has an international reputation for his research in probability theory.

He has used innovative probabilistic techniques to obtain important results in harmonic analysis, partial differential equations, mathematical physics, and mathematical finance.

Bass, the editor of Transactions of the American Mathematics Society, one of the foremost mathematics journals in the world, and his co-authors have also solved a number of long-standing open problems in mathematics.

Beck, one of the pre-eminent scholars in qualitative inquiry in nursing research, is a leading nurse researcher on post-partum depression.

The post-partum depression screening scale she developed is used worldwide and has been translated into 13 languages.

Beck is the co-author of two seminal texts on nursing research, one for undergraduates and one for graduate students, that are also used worldwide.

She is a fellow of the American Academy of Nursing, the highest honor for U.S. nurses.

Dey is an elected fellow of the American Statistical Association and the Institute of Mathematical Statistics and an elected member of the International Statistical Institute.

He has written more than 170 refereed journal articles and book chapters, and co-authored five books or edited volumes.

He received the 2005 Research Excellence Award from the UConn Alumni Association and, in 2004, the Research Excellence Award from the UConn Chapter of the American Association of University Professors.

Purdue University, where Dey earned his Ph.D., awarded him the Outstanding Alumni Award last year.

ADVANCE HOME The UConn Advance
© University of Connecticut
Disclaimers, Privacy, & Copyright
EMail the Editor        Text only