This is an archived article. For the latest news, go to the Advance Homepage
For more archives, go to the Advance Archive/Search Page.

Banner Advance Home Navigation Bar Advance Home Issue Index Read past articles Weekly Calendar

November 8, 2004

Coming to Campus

Coming to Campus is a section announcing visiting speakers of note.

Those who wish to submit items for this section should send a brief description (maximum 300 words) of the event, including the date, time, and place, and giving the name, title, outstanding accomplishments and, if available, a color photo of the speaker to: Visiting Speaker, Advance, 1266 Storrs Road, Storrs, CT 06269-4144 or by e-mail:, with Visiting Speaker in the subject line.

The information must be received by 4 p.m. on Monday, a minimum of two weeks prior to the event.

Publication will depend on space available, and preference will be given to events of interest to a cross-section of the University community.

Barry Lopez, National Book Award-winner, will give a presentation titled “Leaving Lascaux: The Frontier of Human Nature,” on Wednesday, Nov. 17, at 4 p.m. in the Thomas J. Dodd Research Center. His lecture is part of the Edwin Way Teale Series on Nature and the Environment.

Author, environmental activist, and, with E.O. Wilson, founder of an interdisciplinary university curriculum on the humanities and sciences, Lopez will describe how he continuously re-examines human culture and the physical landscape.

“We are an anesthetized culture,” says Lopez. “We have gotten ourselves into a situation where we’re able to live with comfort around carnage ... We don’t want to be there.”

In 1978, Lopez won the John Burroughs Medal for the best natural history book of the year for Of Wolves and Men. He received the National Book Award for Arctic Dreams in 1986, which has been described by The New York Times as a “unique meditation on how the landscape can shape our imagination, desires, and dreams.”

Lopez has received the John Simon Guggenheim, the National Science Foundation, and the Lannan Foundation Fellowships, the Literature Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, the John Burroughs Medal, the John Hay Award, and Pushcart Prizes in fiction and nonfiction.