This is an archived article. For the latest news, go to the Advance Homepage
For more archives, go to the Advance Archive/Search Page.


  January 20, 2004

Short-Term Guest Professors
Announced For 2004

Five scholars will come to UConn for the spring semester 2004 or the academic year 2004-05 under the Research Foundation's program for short-term guest professorships.

Lucy Johnston, nominated by Kerry Marsh, Psychology;

Celina Romany, nominated by Diana Meyers and Richard Wilson, Philosophy;

Dorothy Smith, nominated by Nancy Naples, Sociology and Women's Studies;

Walter Gloeckle, nominated by George Rawitscher, Physics;

Kenneth Hamilton, nominated by Glenn Stanley, Music.

The annual Research Foundation program attracted 12 nominations from a variety of University departments, including agriculture and natural resources, international affairs, linguistics, management, psychology, philosophy, music, sociology, and statistics.

The requests totaled $98,582.

An ad hoc review panel reviewed the nominations and made recommendation s to Janet Greger, vice provost for research.