This is an archived article. For the latest news, go to the Advance Homepage
For more archives, go to the Advance Archive/Search Page.

  April 15, 2002

UConn Alumni Association
Announces Award Winners

The Alumni Association has announced the recipients of the 2002 Faculty Excellence and Alumni Awards

Faculty Excellence Awards:

Faculty Excellence in Research (Humanities)
Frank Costigliola
History, Liberal Arts & Sciences

Faculty Excellence in Research (Sciences)
Bahram Javidi
Electrical & Computer Engineering, Engineering

Faculty Excellence in Teaching at the Undergraduate Level
James Hurley
Mathematics, Liberal Arts & Sciences

John D. Salamone
Psychology, Liberal Arts & Sciences

Alumni Awards:

Connecticut Alumni Service Award
Paul A. Perregaux '58,'66
President and CEO of Siwooganock Bank

Distinguished Alumni Award
Carolyn Runowicz '73
Vice chair, Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology, St. Luke's-Roosevelt, and director, Gynecologic Oncology Research, Continuum Health Partners Inc.

Outstanding Young Alumni Award
Pamela B. Gardner '91
K-12 Social Studies Supervisor, Stratford Public Schools

University Service Award
Louise Berry '52,'61,'80 JD
Superintendent, Brooklyn Board of Education

Aaron Ment '58
Senior Judge, Connecticut Superior Court

The recipients will be honored on May 10, in the Lewis Rome Ballroom, South Campus. The reception begins at 6 p.m., and will be followed by dinner at 7 p.m. Dress is black tie. The cost is $75 per person. Members of the University community are invited to attend. Please RSVP to (860) 486-2242.

Issue Index