This is an archived article. For the latest news, go to the Advance Homepage
For more archives, go to the Advance Archive/Search Page.

  April 15, 2002

AAUP Honors Excellence

The University of Connecticut Chapter of the American Association of University Professors recently announced the recipients of the AAUP Excellence Awards for Teaching, Research and Service. The awards promote the faculty's continued commitment to teaching and scholarship.

The award-winners are:

Teaching Promise: Preston A. Britner, Family Studies

Teaching Innovation: Usha R. Palaniswamy, Allied Health and Asian American Studies

Research Excellence: William F. Bailey, Chemistry, Liberal Arts & Sciences

Service Excellence: Ann M. Ferris, Nutritional Sciences, Agriculture & Natural Resources
Peter L. Halvorson, Geography, Liberal Arts & Sciences

Recipients of the 2002 awards will be honored at a ceremony at the State Capitol, Old Judiciary Room, on Monday, April 29, at 9 a.m. Members of the University community are invited to attend. Please RSVP to (860) 487-0450 by April 26.

Issue Index