This is an archived article. For the latest news, go to the Advance Homepage.
For more archives, go to the Advance Archive/Search Page

Alumni Association announces
1999 award winners
Faculty Excellence Award in Teaching

Janine N. Caira
Department of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

John C. Bennett, Jr.
Department of Mechanical Engineering, School of Engineering

Deborah Fein
Department of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Faculty Excellence Award in Research

Harry A. Frank
Department of Chemistry, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Lynn Z. Bloom
Department of English, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

The recipients of the Faculty Excellence Awards will be honored at an award reception on Monday, April 19, at the Alumni House at 4:30 p.m. Please contact the Alumni Association at (860) 486-2242 if you would like to attend.

The Alumni Association also announced the winners of its alumni awards:
Alumni Service
Peter W. McFadden '54, '57 MSME

Distinguished Alumni
Denis J. Nayden '76, '77 MBA

Honorary Alumni
Paul A. Young

University Service
Lester Baum '48

Nominations sought for 1999-2000 Gant scholarships
The Scholarship Programs Office is accepting nominations for the Edward Victor Gant Scholarships for the 1999-2000 academic year. Faculty and staff are asked to nominate outstanding students. The scholarships will be granted on the basis of academic excellence, professional potential, dedicated service, and exemplary personal integrity. At least two scholarships of $1,500 each will be awarded to an undergraduate and a graduate student.

Faculty and staff may nominate students by sending letters of support that address these four areas by mail to U-150 or faxing to (860) 486-5098. The deadline is Friday, April 2.

Student organization awards competition announced
Nominations are being sought for several annual student organization awards:

  • President's Award: honors a student organization that has produced an outstanding community service project.

  • Chancellor's Award: Honors the outstanding student organization of the year for the achievement of a goal or project that has impact on the community.

  • Vice Chancellor's Award: Honors an organization, registered for more than five years, that has demonstrated outstanding continuous programs, leadership and/or services.

  • Husky Pride Award: Honors an organization for outstanding participation in a tournament or competition. Performance is important, not the win.

  • Program of the Year: Honors an organization that has produced an outstanding single event.

Faculty and staff are encouraged to nominate a club for an award by submitting a nomination decribing the group's achievements. Nominations are due by April 9 and should be sent to Janice Gudinkas.

The Department of Campus Activities is also looking for Student Organization Faculty Advisor Award Nominations. The annual Booker/Wrobleski Student Organization Faculty Advisor Award will be presented at the annual campus activities awards program on Monday, May 3, at 4 p.m. in the Student Union Ballroom. A student organization may nominate a member of the faculty by sending a description of the advisor's achievements by April 9 to Gudinkas.

Nominations for these awards should be sent to Student Union 201 or via e-mail to For more information, call (860) 486-3422.

Scholarships available for students who foster understanding
Application forms for the 1999 Martha and Albert Cohen Scholarship and the Matthew B. Schechter Scholarship are available in the Student Union 201, the Department of Campus Activities.

The Schechter Scholarship is an award made annually to a student on the basis of citizenship, need, scholarship, contribution to the University and contributions to the causes of human rights and human dignity, civil liberties and freedom of thought.

The Cohen Scholarship is awarded to students in good standing on the basis of financial need and evidence of a significant commitment to eliminating bigotry, prejudice and discrimination and to foster tolerance and understanding among peoples.

The deadline for applications is April 5 and scholarships will be awarded at the Campus Activities Awards Program on May 5.

Applications for these scholarships should be sent to Student Union 201 or via e-mail to For more information, call (860) 486-3422.

Wanted: Healthy adults to take part in exercise study
Linda Pescatello, director of the Center for Health Promotion, and David

Camaione, director of the Center for Health Fitness, are seeking healthy men and women who have not engaged in regular exercise for the past six months to participate in an exercise training study. The study will examine how genes affect a person's cholesterol response to exercise training. The exercise training program will take place in the new Hawley Armory Fitness Center.

Participants will receive a year's free membership in the Fitness for Life Program, six months of supervised exercise training, and compensation. For more information, call Kim Kablik in the Center for Health Fitness at (860) 486-0008.