This is an archived article. For the latest news, go to the Advance Homepage
For more archives, go to the Advance Archive/Search Page.
Best high school physics teacher recognized
May 11, 1998

Two Connecticut teachers have received the inaugural University of Connecticut Excellence in High School Physics Teaching Award.

Alan Haught of Weaver High School in Hartford and Fred Meyers of Farmington High School were chosen as this year's winners by a six-judge panel. The judges included representatives from the University's physics department, industry, and the Connecticut Association of Physics Teachers. The award is presented by the physics department.

Haught became a teacher just a few years ago, after retiring from a distinguished career as a research scientist at the United Technologies Research Center. Meyers was trained as an educator and has been a teacher for more than 25 years.

"These are two teachers who come from very different backgrounds and who tackle the tasks of teaching with a different array of skills and strategies," said Philip Best, professor, department of physics and Institute of Materials Science, and chair of the six-judge panel. "They have been very successful in their efforts and are extremely worthy of this award."

Best added that the award was created to show support for state high school physics teachers and to recognize common values shared by physicists in the high schools, industry, and at the University.

The award includes $500 cash, a plaque and the choice of a gift certificate from either PASCO Scientific Inc. or the UConn Co-op.

David Pesci